Interview with Lolita Designer of Dollbe

 

14689899_1105327226181903_181035821_o

I am proud to present to you all an interview with the designer of DollBE , Dollbe Stand AKA Mint Princess. Some of you may not have heard of this brand. This brand has some seriously kawaii prints from  Sweet Lolita to Whimsical and Classic.

I think its important for Lolita fashion to be more inclusive, and that’s just what DollBe has set out to do. I hope this interview can inspire you no matter what your sewing level or Lolita level maybe.

tumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0v


Q n A

1. How did you become interested in Lolita Fashion?

• I started wearing Lolita eight years ago when I became best friends with sugar cube princess. We were planning to go to an anime convention and I wanted to dress up, but I didn’t want to cosplay. So she mentioned Lolita; I had never heard of it, but when she showed me pictures? I just fell in love!

2. What brands have influenced you the most?

• Just the general aesthetic of Lolita clothing has influenced my shops style. If you look at the clothing in Dollbe, at least to me anyway, none of it looks like any particular main stream brand.

3. What is your favorite kind of print/pattern?

•  Hands down I have the biggest weakness for floral prints and traditional upholstery fabric patterns. If it looks like Victorian wallpaper, or your grandma’s sofa, bet your bottom I want it.

4. How do you get your prints they are sooo cute!! Do you make them yourself? or buy them?

• I make all the prints myself. Some I draw by hand and others I use computer tools like Photoshop.

5. How do you make your designs? Do you use a Lolita pattern book?

• No. Because I am self-taught, all my patterns were made by taking a standard pattern and altering it to fit the Lolita aesthetic, as well as all body sizes.

6. What was the most difficult thing about learning how to make Lolita clothing? So we all know Rome wasn’t built in a day …How long did it take you to learn?

• I’d say defiantly the actual sewing part. I could design prints all day, but the sewing was hard in the beginning. As a beginner it’s slow and you don’t really know how something will drape or flow and I just couldn’t seem to get my lines straight. But after 5 years it’s a lot easier.

7. I love that this is a black owned business! It’s so rare, I think you maybe the only one out there making Lolita clothing. Do you have any advice for those looking to follow their passion of starting a business?

•Yes. Simply put, if you don’t do it, who will? I wanted Brand quality Lolita items for girls of western measurements, including those who are tall, or plus size, or both! So I made it work. It is not easy, there is a lot of work involved, but It’s something I wanted to see done.

8. What can people expect from Dollbe in the future?

Like any business I want to expand and offer more items. Right now I offer JSK’s in natural & empire waist, from size XS-6X. And any clothing I offer in the future like OP’s, blouses and tights will also need to be available in those sizes. I’m confident we will get there with the support of the Lolita community.

tumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0vtumblr_ltlpzlqebv1ql1l0v

I dont know about you but I cant wait to see where she goes in the future.

You can follow Dollbe on facebook

Dollbe facebook

and please make sure to check out her Etsy shop!

https://www.etsy.com/shop/Dollbe

If you have any comments please leave them in the comment section below. And as always like share and subscribe for more content.

Thank you for reading Image result for pixel heart

2 comments

  1. I like that Dollbe caters for very big sizes! And it’s true, her style is unique and doesn’t look like all the other brands, so she brings something new to the market (size-wise and style-wise).

Leave a Reply

